Kitsap County Assault Lawyers
Challenging the Accusations Made Against You
Generally defined, assault is an offense that occurs when a person causes or attempts to cause bodily harm to another individual. In Washington, there are varying degrees of this offense, all of which can result in incarceration and fines. If you've been charged with this crime, your rights, freedoms, and future could be on the line. That is why it's crucial to have a skilled attorney ready to fight tirelessly on your behalf.
At Glisson & Morris, our Kitsap County lawyers have over 4 decades of combined legal experience. That means we know the laws and have handled cases of varying complexity. Our team understands that criminal accusations may not always be accurate, and we're here to listen to your side of the story and uncover the facts of your circumstances. Our priority is to understand your specific needs and develop a legal strategy for your unique case. We will work hard toward a favorable outcome on your behalf.
When you need effective legal counsel, reach out to our team by calling us at (360) 526-8191.
What Is Assault?
At the simplest level, assault is when someone intentionally inflicts or tries to inflict harm on someone else. For instance, if a person gets upset at another and swings a punch at them, they could be charged with this offense.
In Washington, the 4 degrees of assault are as follows:
- Fourth-degree: This offense occurs when someone causes bodily injury to another.
- Third-degree: A person commits this offense when they harm or attempt to harm specific classes of people, such as school bus drivers, firefighters, peace officers, or nurses.
- Second-degree: This offense occurs when someone intentionally causes substantial bodily harm to another, commits an assault with a deadly weapon, or intentionally causes harm by poisoning.
- First-degree: When a person intentionally causes or attempts to cause great bodily harm to someone else, they can be charged. Additionally, using a firearm or other deadly weapon that could cause great bodily harm is also an offense under this statute.
What are the Penalties for an Assault Conviction?
If you're found guilty of assault, you could be sentenced to either jail or prison time. The type of punishment you face depends on the facts of your case and what level or class of offense you're charged with.
The potential penalties for a conviction include:
- Gross misdemeanor: First-degree assault is charged at this level, and the punishments include up to 364 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
- Class C felony: This applies to a person charged with third-degree assault, and a conviction carries with it up to 5 years in prison and/or up to $10,000 in fines.
- Class B felony: A person charged with second-degree assault faces this level, and upon conviction could spend up to 10 years in prison and/or up to $20,000 in fines.
- Class A felony: For the most serious assault charge, first-degree, a person could be sentenced to up to life in prison and/or a fine of $50,000.
Have You Been Charged with Assault? Call Us Today!
With the penalties for assault being so high, trying to handle your case on your own could prove costly. At Glisson & Morris, our Kitsap County lawyers will stand by you throughout your case. We understand the fear and stress a person may feel when charged with a crime, which is why we will take the time to answer each of your questions and help you understand the process.
Allow us to start building your defense by calling our firm at (360) 526-8191 or contacting our Kitsap County assault defense attorneys online.We handle criminal defense in Bremerton, Port Orchard, Silverdale, Bainbridge Island, Poulsbo, Kingston, Tacoma, and in and around Pierce County and Kitsap County Washington.